

Thermochimica Acta 284 (1996) ix-x

thermochimica acta

Preface

The 24th NATAS Conference hosted 117 papers, 12 poster presentations, 13 exhibitors and 306 attendees. A portion of these papers were peer reviewed and are presented in this special volume. These papers were prepared for publication by careful refereeing, revision and editing.

The conference was of an exceptionally high quality. The preconference Short Course on Thermal Analysis was headed by Professor Wei-Ping Pan. The Short Course speakers were Dr. S.A. Mikhail, Dr. R.B. Prime, Ms. C.J. Tarborsky and Professor B. Wunderlich. Basic introductory material was presented along with selected advanced topics on pharmaceutical and environmental applications.

The technical program was highlighted with eight plenary lectures: V. Mathot, Toward User-Oriented Hardware and Software; D. Hourston, Applications of MTDSC; B. Wunderlich, Modulated DSC-Capabilities and Limits; R. Behrens. Jr., The Thermal Decomposition of Energetic Materials using Simultaneous TG Modulated Beam MS; J. Barlow, Estimation of Polymer Blend Behavior by TA; J. Seferis, Dynamic Viscoelasticity of Polymeric Composites; J. Pino and J. Rose, Estimating Environmental VOCs; and E. Freire, A Thermodynamic Approach to Molecular Recognition: The Design of Protease Inhibitors.

The annual conference was organized by Stephen Cheng. His team included: Andrew McGhie (Vice-Chairman [V-C] Conference), Jimmie Oxley (Program), Patrick Gallagher(V-C Program), Shaheer Mikhail (Proceedings), John Enns (Treasurer), Mark Altman (Registration), Bob Hassel (Publicity), Marilyn Hauck (Meeting Consultant), many session chairpersons, student volunteers and M. Steiner and M. Goodman (Local Arrangements).

Professor James Seferis was honored with the Mettler Award for his outstanding TA research in DMA and Composites. The NATAS outstanding service award was presented to Alan Riga for his many years of service at all levels in NATAS. Dr. Jimmie Oxley, Gordon Research Center, and Dr. Rick Seyler, Eastman Kodak, were selected as NATAS Fellows. Dr. Bryan Livengood, University of Akron, was the Perkin-Elmer Student Award recipient.

Alan T. Riga Richard T. Lewis

0040-6031/96/\$15.00 © 1996 – Elsevier Science B.V. All rights reserved *PII*: S0040-6031(96)02950-4

x Preface

Acknowledgements to referees

The editors are indeed grateful for the assistance of our many reviewers. This group of dedicated scientific reviewers assist the authors in manuscript improvement and make our job easier. An additional thank you goes to their company/institution for generous support of the reviewer's time in helping with the special edition.

Rufino Alamo Florida A&M University/ The Florida State University

Roger Blaine TA Instruments, Inc.

Donald Burlett Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co.

Bruce Cassell Perkin Elmer Corp.

Tammy Chalmers 3M Malcolm Chase NIST

Stephen Cheng University of Akron
David Dollimore University of Toledo
Susan Dyszel US Customs Service

John Elder Merck & Co.

Jon Foreman TA Instruments, Inc.

William Hammetter Sandia National Laboratory

Michael Huston Lubrizol Corp.

Mimi Keating E.I. DuPont Co.
Suk-Fai Lau Hercules Inc.

Martin Mittleman University of Dayton

Wei-Ping Pan Western Kentucky University